Facebook Messenger finally lets you delete texts for real

Florence Fletcher
February 7, 2019

Update, Feb. 5: Added information about deleting messages via Facebook's web application.

"Have you ever accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat?"

Users will have two options: "Remove for You" and "Remove for Everyone".

The removed message will be replaced by a text that alerts everyone in the conversation that the message was removed.

The company says the new ability is based on the Mark Zuckerberg power, but it underwent "some improvements to provide broader functionality to people using Messenger". It's taken 16 months to bring the feature to the public, and even then, with the caveat of a ten-minute window before they are permanent for at least the recipient. The company told TechCrunch the messages were removed as the result of a previously undisclosed message retention policy it implemented in 2014 after the Sony hacks.

Now playing: Watch this: Facebook redesigns Messenger with AR camera effects and.

The moment Meghan Markle interrupted an interview to meet a fan
Ever since Meghan Markle and Prince Harry stepped out together for the first time, the drama surrounding her has been insane. In addition to Lauren, Meghan will be accompanied by a regular midwife, The Sun also reported.


Iraqi president takes aim at Trump over using country to watch Iran
A scheduled meeting with Iraqi Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi was scrapped and the two leaders spoke over the phone instead. Those are seen as efforts to reassure allies anxious about shifts in US policy, including Trump's Syria plan.


11-Year-Old, Bullied For Last Name "Trump", Invited To President's Speech
The address is also being used as a fundraising tool for the President's re-election campaign, soliciting input from supporters. Joshua has thanked the Trump family including First Lady for their support.


Facebook Messenger will also let you remove messages for yourself.

It imposed a stricter limit on how many times a message could be forwarded to individuals or groups, in response to what it said was "misinformation and rumours" on the platform.

Along the bottom of the screen will be a new Remove option; select it.

Recently, Facebook allowed its users to share their memories on the occasion of it's fifteen anniversary in a certain template, which accommodates memorable photographs with user's near and dear ones.

But despite such scrutiny the company continues to grow - its latest financial results showed revenue up 30% and profits up 61% on this time past year.

The addition of this perennially requested feature doesn't come as a shock, as the release notes from a previous version of the app in November mentioned that it was officially in the works.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER