NI’s Euro 2020 qualifying group revealed

Sherman Parsons
December 2, 2018

Our worldwide players have today (Sunday) discovered which countries they'll have to face as they bid to qualify for Euro 2020.

Mick McCarthy's team had originally been drawn in Group C, which features football heavyweights Germany and the Netherlands. It capped a miserable year for Germany that saw the world champions deposed with a group-stage exit in Russian Federation in June.

Azerbaijan, another host nation, were also moved from Ireland's group with Gibraltar then drawn into Ireland's group.

"The development of the team is really positive", Koeman said.

Germany, who dropped into pot two for the draw after their dismal UEFA Nations League campaign, will also play Northern Ireland, Estonia and Belarus in Group C when qualification begins in March.

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibralta.

The Three Lions will be wary of the Czech Republic but should be confident of seeing off Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo who round out Group A.

"We'll be trying our best to beat all the teams and whatever's gone on with Denmark in the past is in the past".

No, this time it genuinely is, in one sense at least, as the European Championships will be staged around multiple nations for the first time ever. British troops were part of a North Atlantic Treaty Organisation force deployed in Kosovo in 1999 after the alliance bombed Serbia to stop its crackdown against Kosovo's ethnic Albanian separatists.

Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo.

Dublin is a host city for the month-long tournament, which has been spread throughout 12 European cities and now Ireland must attempt to finish inside the top two in their group to guarantee their place at the next edition of the Euros.

UEFA Draw Euro 2020 Qualification Groups
England's Euro 2020 qualifying group has been announced

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar.

All four teams who will play in Portugal next summer in the Nations League were given groups of five, as were Croatia, but the rest of the groups are teams of six.

Group E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan.

Spain is using Bilbao in the group stage and last 16 at the 2020 tournament.

Group G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia, Latvia.

France, which won the World Cup in July and lost the Euro 2016 final on home soil, is in qualifying with Iceland, Turkey, Albania and Moldova.

Scotland face a tricky test against Belgium, but also have Russia, Cyprus, Kazakhstan and San Marino for company.

Italy, which failed to qualify for the World Cup, is in Group J with Bosnia-Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia and Liechtenstein.

The winners and runners up from each of the twelve groups will progress to the 24-team tournament.

It is separate from the Nations League Final Four in June 2019.

Wilder retains heavyweight crown after Fury thriller ends in draw
Speaking as a pundit for BT Sport Box Office, Lewis said: "They need to get some good judges, these judges were awful ". But Fury gradually grew in confidence, regularly taunting Wilder by throwing his arms up in the air or behind his back.

North Korean Soldier Crosses Heavily Guarded Border and Defects to South Korea
The two leaders made a vague commitment on "denuclearization" of the Korean Peninsula during the summit, but glossed over how to make it happen.

Deutsche Bank offices raided by police in tax haven case
According to prosecutors, Deutsche Bank is suspected of aiding some 900 customers in setting up offshore companies in tax havens. The officials said the raid wasn't related to its role as a correspondent bank for money laundering at Denmark's Danske Bank .

Other reports by

Discuss This Article