Viral Facebook hoax tricking people into thinking that their account was hacked

Dwayne Harmon
October 9, 2018

Between fake news, Russian hacks, and data breaches, Facebook has certainly had its fair share of problems in the past couple of years.

By now, Facebook users have probably seen multiple posts telling them not to accept another friend request from someone who is already their friend.

It all starts with a message that is a hoax.

The security bug would let attackers steal "access tokens", which are digital keys that Facebook uses to keep people logged in. No bugs or viruses are now plaguing Facebook users. "Please DO NOT accept a 2nd friend request from "me". please forward to all your contacts".

This week, a hoax message on Facebook has circulated widely - and got a lot of users anxious about their accounts being cloned or hacked. The message then instructs the user to "hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears...then hit forward..." Maybe one that in part reads, "Hi..."

Mahrez miss leaves City, Liverpool and Chelsea all level at top
Substitute Leroy Sane was taken out by Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk in the box, but Mahrez blazed his spot-kick way over the bar. Don't lose the ball in risky positions because when you lose the ball there, they counter attack with Firmino, Mane and Salah.


Greenlight comment adds to Tesla losses from Musk mocking SEC
A federal judge sought to rip up a settlement between Citigroup and the SEC in 2011, launching a three-year battle with the SEC. Business Insider got a copy of the settlement documents, which lay out the specific terms that Tesla and Musk agreed to.


Leno set for Arsenal starts as Emery issues Cech injury update
Emery insisted this week that Aaron Ramsey wouldn't be distracted by reports that his negotiations with Arsenal have broken down. However, it is hard to overlook the wins they mustered through that stretch which also points at improvement.


A warning about "another friend request" alerts Facebook users about potential account "cloning". Then, the message calls them to forward the message on to their friends. They're a hoax. Do not believe or fall for them.

It's fake - so users shouldn't worry if they see it - but if you're anxious that someone may have got into your account, there are steps to take (below).

By sharing this message, you're unintentionally adding more people into the pool who are anxious about their accounts with no reason. You know the one: the paragraph of legal-sounding text that people post to their Facebook feeds in a misguided attempt to prevent Facebook from taking over the copyright to everything they post.

Facebook was not immediately available for comment.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER