Modric beats Salah, Ronaldo to Best FIFA Men's Player 2018

Sherman Parsons
September 25, 2018

"Ronaldo and Messi's absence is disrespectful to their fellow players, to Fifa and to the football world", Capello told Television Española after the ceremony.

The FIFA Puskás Award is an award established on 20 October 2009 at the behest of then-president Sepp Blatter, in order to award the player, male or female, judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant, or "most beautiful", goal of the year.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo's votes for the FIFA Best Men's Player award have been revealed and they are very interesting.

Kerr also took out the 2017 AFC women's player of the year award for her efforts as the leading goalscorer in the 2017 Tournament of Nations, in which the Matildas beat United States, Japan and Brazil for the title.

For the first time in 12 years, Messi was not among the finalists with Salah earning a place on the podium for his incredible 44-goal debut season with Liverpool that carried the Reds to the Champions League final.

Recognising the remarkable actions of fans from across the world, the FIFA Fan Award - also voted for by fans - was won by the fans of Peru, who received 74% of the total votes.

The Egyptian striker picked the ball up on the edge of the Everton box, breaking free of his marker before curling a left-footed strike into the top corner.

Karl-Anthony Towns Signs 5 Year $190m Extension With Timberwolves
Trading for a 29-year-old Butler and paying him $190 million until he's 34 may fall under the category of skipping steps. Minnesota Timberwolves president of basketball operations Tom Thibodeau is reluctant to trade Jimmy Butler .

Raul Jimenez wants to show his Premier League class at Manchester United
Pogba, who has scored four goals in six games, may be the biggest beneficiary of the tournament in Russian Federation . I think with my style of game I am good for this league and I think I adapt good.

Bernd Leno frustrated at being Petr Cech understudy at Arsenal
Arsenal were in solid form in the Europa League last term and they reached the semi-finals before losing to Atletico Madrid. 'I came for the Premier League.

"This trophy is also for my family, without whom I would not be the person that I am".

Modric believes he had the standout year of his career, winning the Champions League with Madrid and captaining Croatia to the final of the World Cup.

"Thanks to my fans for all the great support and love they are showing me".

Four Real Madrid teammates made the cut. The coach award in the women's game went to Reynald Pedros, the Frenchman who led Lyon to French league and Champions League glory.

Voting for the player and coach categories was conducted by national team captains and managers, selected journalists and, for the first time, an online poll of fans.

De Bruyne won the League Cup and the Premier League with City and reached the World Cup semi-finals with Belgium, alongside Hazard.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article